View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:04 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:57 pm
Posts: 27
Post My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
Hello eveyone,

I just started playing with my new Utilite Standard. After some time I realized that the unit gets kind of hot. I've read through other posts here, and it seems to be by design.

However, I still wonder - is it really normal that the unit (output from /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp) is at 60-61 degrees when about 99,7% idle all the time?

I use the device as a router only (however not active yet), so BT, Wireless etc has been disabled. No screen is connected etc.

/Peter


Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:04 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:13 am
Posts: 210
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
is the device hot to touch?


Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:57 pm
Posts: 27
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
Yes, it's pretty hot. And as I said - it's totally idle, so I wouldn't expect it to get that hot. I'm using it as a router/fw, so it will be on 24/7..

Also, by reading at the forum, it seems it should be more like 50 degrees when idle.

/Peter


Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:47 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:52 am
Posts: 390
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
This looks like a potential HW issue with the unit. Our RMA manager should contact you with further instructions. In case you do not receive any updates within the next few days please contact me by PM.

_________________
---------------------------
Igor Vaisbein
Utilite Product Manager

---------------------------


Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:37 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:57 pm
Posts: 27
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
Thanks for the reply,

I've managed to hold the temperature around 55 degrees now, but that forces me to place the unit in a vertical position. It seems that the main reason is that the bottom of the unit get quite hot when placed on a flat surface.

I'll hold on until I get contacted by the RMA staff.

/Peter


Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:44 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:27 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
Hello Peter,

I apologize for the delay with my reply, for some reason this issue has fallen through the cracks.

Please email rma@utilite-computer.com
In your email specify the following (copy and paste)

Utilite serial number:
Name:
Address:
Problem description:

If the unit was purchased from Amazon, please attach a copy of the
Amazon order.

Best Regards,
Dubi


Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:54 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:57 pm
Posts: 27
Post Re: My Utilite Standard is 60 degrees when idle
I finally got this solved. I received RMA info to return the unit, but since it would be too expensive to return the unit I fixed it myself. I opened up the lid, and when doing that I discovered that the heat sink was incorrectly placed on the lid, so it didn't have any thermal connection to the CPU, it was off with about 5 cm.

After moving it in place I now have CPU temperature of about 45 degrees.

/Peter


Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.