View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:22 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 more RAM? 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:24 pm
Posts: 2
Post more RAM?
4GB is good, 8GB better... Would gladly pay for 16GB.

Is it a technical limit or done to keep cost low?


Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:09 pm
Posts: 13
Post Re: more RAM?
I have a feeling it's a technical limit of the processor:

http://utilite-computer.com/web/utilite-specifications


Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am
Posts: 351
Post Re: more RAM?
The Cortex A9 architecture used by the Freescale i.MX6 processor is 32 bit. 4GB is typically the maximum size which can be addressed by a 32 bit system [Max Ram = (2^32)/(1024^3)]. Datasheets for the Freescale i.MX6 processors indicate they can accept 16 bit, 32 bit, or 64 bit DDR3-1066 ram. The Utilite block diagram indicates 64 bit DDR3 - so one might expect a max memory size of greater than 4GB. However, it seems the 32 bit architecture limits the memory size to 4GB.

Regardless, Utilite by comparison fairs well in the area of memory size. Other highly touted, caseless competitors using the Freescale i.MX 6 Quad Core only offer 1GB DDR3. A few of the more obscure offerings indicate they support up to 4GB.


Fri Aug 09, 2013 8:24 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 35
Post Re: more RAM?
4GB is a technical limit.

_________________
-----------------
Gabriel Heifets

Compulab support Engineer
-----------------


Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:19 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:24 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: more RAM?
Ahh nods. I forgot about that!

Any future plans for a 64 bit CPU?


Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:13 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:05 am
Posts: 521
Post Re: more RAM?
Look up Osbourne Effect.
I played with an Osbourne when they were new.


Sun Aug 11, 2013 7:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:09 pm
Posts: 13
Post Re: more RAM?
pepedog wrote:
Look up Osbourne Effect.
I played with an Osbourne when they were new.


Ah, the Osbourne effect.

The next version will run at 10 zillion GHz will access 256 petabytes of RAM and will run the latest version of OS/VU

:lol:


Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.