View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:03 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 eth0 under Debian Stable on Trimslice 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 3:26 pm
Posts: 50
Post eth0 under Debian Stable on Trimslice
So I've come back to the trimslice now that I have some spare time and after using a combination of the instructions at the debian wiki and the arch wiki I have finally gotten Debian stable to boot on the device.

For some reason though when booted into debian the system does not see the wired network connection - any ideas why this might be? The following are some related outputs:

Code:
root@trimslice:/etc/network# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

root@trimslice:/etc/network#

/etc/network/interfaces file:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp



root@trimslice:/etc/network# uname -r
2.6.38.3-trimslice-1.01-01637-gc2b2d3e


Any input/ideas would be great!

Thanks,
~Jeff


Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:48 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:18 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: eth0 under Debian Stable on Trimslice
I had this same problem. The solution is that you simply need to spin up eth0 with ifconfig, for instance:

Code:
ifconfig eth0 <ip-address>


eth0 should now show up in the ifconfig output. If this doesn't work, you are missing the kernel modules that go with the Trim-Slice kernel. In this case, the easiest way to get them is to build the kernel from source as described in the wiki:

http://www.trimslice.com/wiki/index.php ... nux_Kernel


Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:23 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:35 pm
Posts: 445
Post Re: eth0 under Debian Stable on Trimslice
ifocnfig w/out parameters shows only configured and up interfaces.
Make use of ifconfig -a in order to display all interfaces which are currently available, even if down.


Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:09 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.